Washington’s Rosie Atkinson follows her dream and writes first book at 83

Rosie Atkinson

Rosie Atkinson

She is a 50+ year member of NFPW, a contributor of articles to many boating magazines and at the young age of 83 published her first book “Albin’s Letters,” a romantic fiction novella based on the lives of her grandparents. Meet Rosie Atkinson, another unique and unbelievable NFPW member.

Name: Rosalie L. Atkinson, born Rose Lorraine, but her grandfather called her Rosalie and so the name stuck. She was baptized Rosalie, and was always called “Rosie” growing up.

City and State: Lived in Port Orchard, Washington since l959. I moved to Bremerton, Washington, from Chicago as a teenager in l946.

Affiliate and any leadership positions: Washington Press Women

Years a member of NFPW: I joined sometime in the l970s. NFPW sent a 50 year “Emeritus” certificate a few years ago, but with my unique filing system it is temporarily misplaced!

Tell us a little about you:

Rosie and her husband Charlie

Rosie and her husband Charlie

There is so much I could tell, and a lot I shouldn’t tell … but probably the most significant and revealing thing about me is the love I have for my disabled husband (who is currently living in the nursing home next door) and the love we both have for the six human beings that call us Mom and Dad, and all those wonderful grand and great grandkids. Husband and kids both indulge my pursuit of writing and my desire to write — if not the Great American Novel, then maybe to publish something that will be remembered long after I am gone.

Any career advice you would give?

Just to love your chosen job or career path enough to hang in there. I have always loved every job I ever had or at least something about every job. I guess attitude has something to do with being successful and I’m not just talking big bucks here. To me, money really isn’t everything.

Which talent would you most like to have?

Where should I begin? I’d like to be able to tap dance like Debbie Reynolds, or sing like Susan Boyle, but mostly maybe to create great stories like Debbie Macomber, Barbara Kingsolver or J.A. Jance.

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

Here. Because Port Orchard, Washington, is a wonderful place to live with great neighbors, old and new, and after all the traveling my husband and I have done around the country by motor home and to Canada and Alaska and back on the great Salish Sea by boat, there really is no place like home. Dorothy had it right.

What book are you reading?

A Painted House by John Grisham, on my Kindle, and Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri.

What would people be surprised to learn about you?

Not sure there are any surprises left to discover about me at my age. Maybe that I survived open heart surgery in 2009 and, a year later, brain surgery after a fall and I think I still have most of my marbles!

Why is your affiliate and NFPW important to you?

It serves to remind me that there are still people out there working hard to bring the truth to readers and also that NFPW and other organizations exist to encourage them.

Way to follow you on a website, twitter, Facebook, etc.

I have a blog: pugetrosie.wordpress.com

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

