Stein excels as artist, author, technical writer and geek princess

Allison Stein enjoys sharing her snarky commentary with others. She is the servant for her two house cats  you can read about on Facebook. She is a talented writer who volunteers her time keeping the NFPW web page current. She is a dependable friend who is always willing to pitch in and help make NFPW stronger.  Meet this unique and unbelievable NFPW member.

Name: Allison Stein

Allison Stein

Allison Stein

City and State: Kansas City, Mo.

Affiliate and any leadership positions:

I’m NFPW’s web director. I’ve served on the board in various appointed roles since 1994, including parliamentarian, technology advisor, and as NFPW’s original webmaster. I’ve also served as president of the Missouri and South Carolina affiliates, and I was Missouri’s Communicator of Achievement in 1997. I’ve earned many awards at the state and national level for writing, editing, web content, social media, and short fiction. I’ve also presented workshops on writing and technology topics at affiliate and national conferences.

Years a member of NFPW: 26

In a couple of paragraphs, tell us a little about you.

I started out with every intention of being a newspaper reporter: three years of high school journalism, a journalism degree from the University of South Carolina, and experience at my home town paper and the state’s largest daily paper as obituary writer and features stringer.

Instead, I took a position at a software company writing their internal newsletter. That turned into a 25-year career in business-to-business marketing communications at software and technology companies that ranged from Internet start-ups to industry-leaders.

About five years ago, I changed careers again. Today, I’m a technical writer at a large company in the oil and gas industry. I write knowledgebase articles — the online articles that explain how to use the software — and other documentation for a system that controls product movement and inventory for fuel terminals.

In my spare time, I write science fiction short stories, make art, and help run science fiction conventions.

I use the following biography for my extracurricular activities: “Allison Stein is an artist, author, TV addict, geek princess, and cat servant — not necessarily in that order. When not painting, writing, updating her social media status, or serving as cat furniture, she hoards art supplies and practices Advanced Google-Fu.”

Her short fiction appears in several Yard Dog Press anthologies (I Should Have Stayed in Oz, A Bubba In Time Saves None, Houston We’ve Got Bubbas, and Flush Fiction) as well as Death Is Only Skin Deep from NobleFusion Press and A Horror A Day: 365 Scary Stories from Barnes & Noble Press. Her art can be seen at science fiction conventions in the Midwest and online at AllisonStein.com. She has also provided cover art and interior illustration for Yard Dog Press, NobleFusion Press, and KaCSFFS Press.

Allison Stein the artist

Allison Stein the artist

Any career advice you would give?

1. Contacts you make today may open doors for you in the future.

2. Don’t rule out odd or unexpected opportunities.

3. The ability to write with clarity and precision is most valuable skill in your portfolio.

Which talent would you most like to have?

I wish I had better juggling skills! I juggle so many projects that I’m always dropping a ball somewhere and scurrying to pick it up and get it back in the air.

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

I love living in Kansas City, but I do miss the sun and sand of my home state of South Carolina. I don’t get to visit there often enough, and I’m really looking forward to NFPW’s 2014 Communications Conference in Greenville, S.C.!

What book are you reading?

I’ve just finished the audiobooks of Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane and Kathy Reich’s Bones of the Lost.

I’m currently listening to Blood of Tyrants, a historical fantasy by Naomi Novik. (Imagine what the Napoleonic Wars might have been like if they had had dragons for air support!) In ebook format, I’m currently reading The King of Rabbits and Moon Lake and other Tales of Magic and Mischief, a collection of short stories by Eugie Foster.

I’m also reading The Wheatbelly Cookbook by William Davis the old fashioned way: on paper.

What would people be surprised to learn about you?

I’m an introvert. NFPW nudges me out of my comfort zone, and that’s a very good thing. I’ve learned so much about working with people and speaking to groups though my service to NFPW.

Why is your affiliate and NFPW important to you?

NFPW has been a part of my life for more than 25 years, and it’s taken me to places

Allison Stein shows her creativity

Allison Stein shows her creativity

and introduced me to people from all over the country.

Some of my NFPW friends are my very best friends, even if I only see them once a year at conference.

When I moved from South Carolina to Missouri, the first thing I did was call the NFPW members in my new town and start attending their monthly meetings.

NFPW has given me the confidence to lead as well as many opportunities to do so at the affiliate level in Missouri and South Carolina, and at the national level. NFPW has also given me an opportunity to measure my skills against those of my peers through the Communications Contest. The judges’ critiques have helped me grow as a writer, and it’s always nice to show the awards to the boss afterward.

Way to follow you on a website, twitter, Facebook, etc.

AllisonStein.com

@allisonstein

facebook.com/allison.stein

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Stein excels as artist, author, technical writer and geek princess”


  1. […] was honored to be featured last week on Talking With Teri, a blog written by Teri Ehresman, current president of the National […]


Leave a Reply

