Huff works for public radio, looks forward to sharing Alaska’s beauty with NFPW members

She loves her life in Alaska and started attending NFPW conferences after attending her first one in 2000 when the national conference was in Alaska. Now she is a regular at both Alaska and national meetings. She is looking forward to sharing her state with members again next year for the 2015 national conference. Meet another unique and outstanding NFPW member, Connie Huff.

Name:  Connie Huff

Connie  Huff

Connie Huff

City and State: Anchorage, Alaska

Affiliate and any leadership positions: Alaska Professional Communicators

Years a member of NFPW: 25

Tell us a little about you.  

I am the assistant program director and operations director of KSKA public radio in Anchorage a member Alaska Public Media which includes KAKM public TV and the Alaska Public Radio Network too.

The head of the journalism and public communications department when I attended University of Alaska Anchorage was Sylvia Broady.  She said we would be foolish not to join Alaska Press Women (now Alaska Professional Communicators)  and she was absolutely right.  I have made some of my best friends in ProCom and have really enjoyed attending conferences after my first, which was here, in 2000.  I really enjoy the pre and post conference tours and am on the tours committee for the Alaska conference in 2015.  Those 15 years sure flew by.

I warn visitors that they might get hooked on Alaska and not want to leave.  I came for a two month working vacation and have lived here for 30 years.

Richard Huff, my husband, is a retired firefighter.  He fishes and hunts and is a great cook. We just adopted two golden retriever puppies named Prince and Scout.

Connie and Richard Huff at Downtown Abbey event

Connie and Richard Huff at Downtown Abbey event

Any career advice you would give?

Don’t get stuck just because it’s easy.  You get good at one job and it’s easy to get complaisant and not move ahead.

Which talent would you most like to have?

I love to sing and wish I were good at it, or even just decent.

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

I’m so happy to live here in south central Alaska it would be hard to lure me away.  I do travel a lot and can see myself living in any place I visit, but I am always happy to come home.

I missed the 2013 conference in Utah because I was in South Africa on the hunting trip my husband Richard had desired since he was a boy. I got to see a wealth of animals with my guide. It was fantastic,. My favorite picture is of me with two little penguins above me. Could have been the best day of my life. Check out the photos: flicker.com/photos/conniehuff101

What book are you reading?

“To Russia with Love: An Alaskan’s Journey,” by Victor Fischer with Charles Wohlforth.  It’s fascinating.  Vic was a member of the constitutional congress.  Our constitution is a model for countries’ constitutions it’s so good.

What would people be surprised to learn about you?

Back in the day I used to be a life model for art students and artists.

Why is your affiliate and NFPW important to you?

We have great programs most months and it’s such an interesting group of members.  With Richard’s cooking and such great conversationalists our annual BBQ is always a hit.

Way to follow you on a website, twitter, Facebook, etc.  http://www.alaskapublic.org/

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

