Idaho native Cathy Koon shares talents, dedication with state and national members

I recruited her to join NFPW many years ago and I have enjoyed our time together at state and national conferences ever since. Many of you lovingly dubbed her the “bag lady” after she used her creative talents to hand design the NFPW conference bags for last year’s conference in Salt Lake City.  She is loyal and the best friend you could ever ask for. She loves NFPW and it shows by all the ways she gives of her time and talents. Our organization is better because of this unique and unbelievable member. Meet my awesome friend, Cathy Koon.

Cathy Koon

Cathy Koon

Name: Cathy Koon

City and State: St. Anthony, Idaho, born and raised

Affiliate and any leadership positions: Media Network Idaho, currently serving as president; treasurer of the NFPW Education Fund; editor of NFPW AGENDA magazine.

Years a member of NFPW: Since 1980

Tell us a little about you:

I am a small-town girl at heart, but I love traveling to all the places we hold NFPW conferences. I have seen a lot of this wonderful country through my membership, places I would never have seen otherwise.

I am proud to be the daughter of a U.S. Army veteran who served in Europe during WWII and again in Korea. My ex-husband retired after 25 years with the Army and the Army National Guard, and my daughter Terra served with the Idaho National Guard in Iraq. I am proud to be an American, and that influences many of my decisions in life.

I am also the grandmother of four young boys who keep me on my toes.

Any career advice you would give?

Growing up, most people expected to enter a career field and retire there. Today, they say people will change careers several times in their lives. So I think it is important to find a career that suites your likes and your lifestyle to work at what you love and love your work. Learn to be flexible, keep learning, and always do your best. Don’t become a dinosaur.

Which talent would you most like to have? I want to learn to oil paint.

Cathy Koon on a fly fishin float trip.

Cathy Koon on a fly fishing float trip.

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

I live there. But if I couldn’t live in the shadow of the Tetons, I would choose someplace in Montana where I could have a small spread with cows and horses, and run an antiques and collectibles shop on the side.

What book are you reading?

I just finished “The Lost Symbol,” the Dan Brown book. I just started one of Tony Hillerman’s books and one about a guy who is retracing the route of the Pony Express. It is not unusual for me to have one book in the living room, another in the bathroom and one by my bed so I have reading material handy without carting it around with me. I also just starting getting True West magazine that I carry in my purse.

What would people be surprised to learn about you?

My goal in life is to one day be a recluse. I want to retire to a cabin with a view of the Tetons, no phone, no computer, a large workshop and tools of every description for making furniture, scrapbooking, creating artworks and quilting. Doesn’t exactly match my answer about where I would like to live, but it is an extension of that lifestyle.

Why is your affiliate and NFPW important to you?

My membership in MNI and NFPW has been an important part of my life for almost 35 years. I have made lifelong friends, kept abreast of trends in journalism and communications, taken advantage of professional development opportunities, and been able to travel throughout the country. Many of the firsts in my life are a direct result of being a member.

Way to follow you on a website, twitter, Facebook, etc.:

I have a Facebook page, plus I administer our Henry’s Fork Foundation page on Facebook, and will soon be the administrator of our new website, scheduled to go live any day now. Someday I may start posting to my blog again.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

