Former NFPW president and COA helps organization find ways to keep growing

Cynthia Price

Cynthia Price

She is a past president of the National Federation of Press Women and former NFPW Communicator of Achievement. She is an overachiever who keeps challenging herself to continue to excel in all she does. She is one of the reasons I enjoy attending NFPW conferences — to see her and learn about some of the innovative ideas she has. NFPW attendees this year will benefit from the conference app she crafted. Meet my good friend, Cynthia Price.

Name: Cynthia Price

City and State: Glen Allen, VA

Affiliate and any leadership positions:

Virginia Professional Communicators. Past president NFPW, Virginia Press Women. NFPW Conference Co-Chair 2007. NFPW COA Director. Numerous other state roles.

Years a member of NFPW: 25

Tell us a little about you.

I believe in living life on the edge, exploring and sometimes being lazy.

Professionally, I was the youngest editor of my college newspaper, went on to work as a newspaper reporter, and then transitioned into PR. I launched a business magazine for the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, spent almost 11 years as the spokesperson of an urban police department and then explored the world helping vulnerable children through an international child development organization. Now I’m director of media and PR for the University of Richmond.

Any career advice you would give?

Follow your passions. What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail? If you aren’t living on the edge, you’re taking up too much room. In other words, “Just Do It!”

Which talent would you most like to have?

To be able to sing.

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

I have a great life where I am but if I could afford a flat in London, a condo in Chicago and a cottage on the beach, that would be terrific!

What book are you reading?

Cynthia Price with Gene Simmons

Cynthia Price with Gene Simmons

By the time someone reads this, I’ll have moved on to the next one. I read between 5 and 10 books a month. I’m in a book club, which keeps me on a more literary bent. I’m a voracious reader of mysteries. I also consumer leadership and coaching books.

What would people be surprised to learn about you?

I am an introvert. On that note, I encourage everyone to read the book, Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain.

Why is your affiliate and NFPW important to you? Both organizations have provided me with fantastic learning opportunities (through conferences and hands-on experience), leadership opportunities and networking opportunities. Where both organizations go beyond what most other professional organizations provide is in the lifelong friendships that one makes over time.

Another plus has been the travel to all the great states in the U.S. I started this thing called “50 by 50,” and it originated because I was discovering I was visiting so many of the states because of NFPW. I set a goal to visit all 50 states before I turn 50. The NFPW conference is in Alaska in my 50th year and it’s the last state I need. Yea!

Way to follow you on a website, twitter, Facebook, etc.

Blog: www.cynthiapricecommunique.com

Twitter: @PriceCynthia

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/cynthiaprice12/

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

