Meet a Member: Marsha Hoffman

Marsha Hoffman and her sister, Julie, co-lead the Iowa affiliate as they teamed with Nebraska to host the 2011  NFPW conference in Council Bluffs-Omaha. She is a NASCAR fan, so I is appropriate that I feature her just before the NASCAR weekend in Vegas. She cheers for team Dale Earnhardt Jr. in NASCAR and team NFPW the rest of the year. Meet another good friend, the unique and unbelievable Marsha Hoffman.

Marsha Hoffman at Snowbird Resort in Utah.

Marsha Hoffman at Snowbird Resort in Utah.

Name: Marsha Hoffman

City and State: Council Bluffs, Iowa

Affiliate and any leadership positions:

Iowa Press Women: Current treasurer, Communications Contest director and Communicator of Achievement director; past president and vice president.

NFPW: Current 1st Vice President; past 2nd Vice President, Public Relations Director and Web Coordinator, Hospitality Director, 2011 Conference Co-Chair for Iowa-Nebraska “Plains Speaking” Conference, 2004 Iowa Press Women COA nominee.

Years a member of NFPW: 20

Tell us a little about you.

I am an Iowa girl.  I was born in Council Bluffs, and left for four years of college at Northwest Missouri State and for 18 months for my first job as a reporter at the Marshall Democrat-News in Marshall, Mo.  I was known to many of my contacts as “Marsha from Marshall.”

I accepted an assistant editor’s position at my hometown newspaper, The Daily Nonpareil, in 1994.  I was promoted to news editor, then new media editor when NonpareilOnline.com was created in 1995, and then became the news and new media editor thanks to budget cuts.  I later became just the new media editor again and was Internet Coordinator when I was laid off three years ago.

I am now enjoying a second career in Document Control and Quality Assurance at Omaha-based American Laboratories Inc., which is in the manufacturing industry.  I still use my writing and especially editing skills every day, writing and re-writing and redlining documents.  I am also a systems administrator for ALI’s online document system. The host for the system, MasterControl, is located in Salt Lake City.

For hobbies, I play one night of indoor volleyball during the school year and one or two nights of sand volleyball in the summer. Sadly, this session is probably my last in the competitive indoor league I’ve played in for 15 years (comprised of mostly former college players). I’ve found the heart and mind may want to keep up with all of the twenty- and thirty-somethings in the league, but the ol’ body just can’t do it anymore.

Any career advice you would give?

If an opportunity presents itself, take the bull by the horns. I was a newspaper editor when management decided to try this new thing called the “World Wide Web” in 1995. Helping create and develop the newspaper’s website over the years has helped me in my second career as an online systems administrator.

Which talent would you most like to have?

I can’t take a selfie to save my life! I cut my head off almost every time! If I’m trying to take a photo with someone else, usually my sister (fellow NFPW member) Julie, I cut off both of our heads!

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

If I could live anywhere, it would probably be a warm-weather climate such as Florida or California. As I’m getting older, I find that I hate when I have to shovel snow.

What book are you reading?

Marsha Hoffman, center, with her sister, Julie on the left and their Mother, Loverta "Bert", at the 2004 NFPW conference in Kentucky.

Marsha Hoffman, center, with her sister, Julie, on the left and their Mother, Loverta “Bert,” at the 2004 NFPW conference in Kentucky.

I have been reading two David Baldacci series – King and Maxwell, and Wil Robie.

What would people be surprised to learn about you?

I doubt many people know that I collect bells. I have nearly 50, and am seeking a better way to display them – I’m open to suggestion!  My NFPW travels have helped this collection grow exponentially.

I am a big NASCAR fan and penned a NASCAR column for more than a decade while at the newspaper. For the record, Dale Earnhardt Jr. is my favorite driver.

Also, I am also a fan of “Game of Thrones.”  For those in the know, I am a fan of both George R.R. Martin’s excellent “A Song of Ice and Fire” book series as well as HBO’s television adaptation.

Why is your affiliate and NFPW important to you?

The love and support my sister and I received from members when our mother passed away from Alzheimer’s during the holiday season of 2012 is just one example of why I love IPW and NFPW.  We first discovered the memory issues our mother, Loverta “Bert” was experiencing during the 2005 Seattle conference.  It was the last conference mom was able to attend, but every year after and in-between, our NFPW friends asked how she was doing, and also how our father Mike was getting along. We were truly touched when mom was included in the memorial service at the Salt Lake City conference.

Among my other favorite NFPW memories were all of the meetings with Nebraska co-chairs Sherry Thompson and Stephanie Geery-Zenk as Julie and I helped plan the 2011 NFPW conference, which was held jointly by both affiliates in Council Bluffs-Omaha.  We had fun from our initial meetings and for the next two years or so until our “closing meeting” at the bar at the end of the Saturday evening banquet.

Way to follow you on a website, twitter, Facebook, etc.

You can follow me at:

@Marshatres on Twitter

Marsha Hoffman on Facebook

Marshatres on Instragram

Marsha Hoffman on LinkedIn

Explore posts in the same categories: NFPW

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Meet a Member: Marsha Hoffman”

  1. Martha Oskvig Says:

    Great to see you featured, Marsha. Thanks for all you do for us in Iowa and through NFPW!


Leave a Reply

