Meet a Member: Julie Hoffman

When I think of Julie Hoffman, I think of a dependable person who is always willing to help out. She works hard to support NFPW in any way she can. She was a key part of the success of the NFPW communications contest last year and will continue her leadership position for the next two years. She is also a fighter and her determination and the prayers of her family and friends is helping her through a health scare. Meet this unique and unbelievable member I am pleased to be able to call a friend.

Julie Hoffman at the Kansas Speedway. (Photo by Marsha Hoffman)

Julie Hoffman at the Kansas Speedway. (Photo by Marsha Hoffman)

Name: Julie Hoffman

City and State: Council Bluffs, Iowa

Affiliate and any leadership positions: Iowa Press Women / President. One of the co-chairs for the NFPW conference in Nebraska/Iowa in 2011 and current NFPW Communications Contest chair.

Years a member of NFPW: 9, joined in 2006 after being a groupie for about 9 years

Tell us a little about you.

Although I studied journalism in high school, I pursued a career in the sciences instead. I received my degree in Distributed Studies from Iowa State University in 1991. My degree consists of a minimum of 35 credits in each discipline of Chemistry and Microbiology and Zoology. I had intended to work in a hospital laboratory, that had been my interest since Middle School when I would babysit for a neighbor who was a Medical Technologist. I spent my Friday evenings after the kids fell asleep reading her textbooks! Well, an opportunity fell into my lap to work in a microbiology lab at a pizza meat manufacturing facility before I had finished my degree while their microbiologist was on maternity leave. I ended up working there for 18 months after graduation. The microbiologist who I replaced decided daycare was too expensive to justify working full-time. That solidified where my career was going to head at that point. I decided I was ready to head away from Ames where I had gone to college, and head back near home. My family found a job in a microbiology lab listed in the local want ads, so I applied and got that job in September 1992. I have been with the company ever since. American Laboratories, Inc. hired me as a microbiologist in their lab and since then I have gone into Quality Assurance and now am in Production as the Production Coordinator. The company is a neutraceutical and pharmaceutical company which has been family-owned since its founding in February, 1967. Just last week, we were sold. Now the new frontier awaits us…

Any career advice you would give?

Don’t pigeon-hole yourself. I certainly am using my degree in my job, but it is nowhere near what I thought I’d be doing!

Julie Hoffman at Alyeska Ski Resort at the NFPW conference in Alaska in 2000. (Photo by Marsha Hoffman)

Julie Hoffman at Alyeska Ski Resort at the NFPW conference in Alaska in 2000. (Photo by Marsha Hoffman)

Which talent would you most like to have?

Anything musical – i am horribly tone deaf and cannot read music of any kind.

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

Somewhere the sun shines 85% of the time, but the temperature does not exceed 85 degrees!

What book are you reading?

I wish I had time & energy to start a book; I have a few lined up, but have not started them. Mostly enjoy Star Trek, so there’s always something available.

What would people be surprised to learn about you?

1) I used to sell Longaberger baskets, but as I was my own best customer, had to STOP

2) I have a munchkin (pseudo-nephew) who I helped raise while his parents owned a local restaurant. He’s now 16 and a junior in high school and being “recruited” as a football player. The best part of the whole thing is, I still get hugs and kisses whenever I need them – his parents don’t.

3) I love Star Trek and Star Wars, though real life doesn’t allow much time for the passion

4) I am an NCIS nut!!

Why is your affiliate and NFPW important to you?

I have recently been diagnosed with Stage 4 colon cancer. When the word got out to friends and acquaintances in NFPW, I was overwhelmed with the support I received. Even now, I get a random card or email from a member who is just hoping to brighten my day – it is unbelievable how much that can mean to someone. I am passionate about the good work our organization can do for the high school programs around the country. I think we are just the type of organization to make a major difference in the direction our education system seems to be headed with journalism education as well as our next generations’ communications abilities.

Way to follow you on a website, twitter, Facebook, etc.

On Facebook, I am Julie Hoffman; on Twitter, I am @jultrig.

Explore posts in the same categories: Iowa, NFPW

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Meet a Member: Julie Hoffman”


  1. I see a a subset of NFPW members — the NCIS fan club!


Leave a Reply

