Meet a Member: Linn Rounds

Linn Rounds served NFPW as president from 1997-1999. She did an awesome job as president, as well as the other elected positions she served in. She took the time to encourage the affiliates and always checked to see how members were doing and if there was anything she could do to help. Her outstanding leadership is one of the many reasons NFPW continues to be a great organization. She is another unique and unbelievable member I am honored to call a friend.

Linn Rounds

Linn Rounds

Name: Linn Rounds

City and State: Cheyenne, WY

Affiliate and any leadership positions:

I joined Wyoming Press Women, later renamed Wyoming Media Professionals, in 1968 and served in all the elected positions up to and including state president. It was the same with NFPW. I chaired two committees and held every elected office but treasurer. Although it took me about 16 years, I did it with deliberation so I could juggle work, family and NFPW. I was president 1997-1999.

Years a member of NFPW: 47

Tell us a little about you.

I was born and raised in Indiana and went to college in Wisconsin. A year after graduation my roommate and I drove from Chicago to LA on the original Route 66. When we got back to Milwaukee, we knew we wanted a change, threw some city names in the hat and drew Denver. We moved to Colorado in the fall of 1966 and after a few months I moved to Cheyenne alone. I landed a job in the public information office of the Wyoming Highway Department. That was going to be a temporary gig just long enough so I could earn some money to live and make  the car payments for my 1965 Mustang convertible (which I still own.) Then I was heading back to Chicago.

WHD was where I met Keith, my husband. While staying home with our two kids for four years, I did some freelancing and then returned to work full-time in 1977. I spent the remainder of my working years with the Wyoming State Library in later years as the publications and marketing manager. I was also instrumental in organizing the Wyoming Center for the Book, a Library of Congress project which introduced family literacy programs and a variety of other author and reading-related programs to the state.

Any career advice you would give?

Almost all of my professional life was in government public information except for a short stint with AP. If you want to write, every organization needs quality media. Take your pick. If you chose PR, you can expect to be in the minority whether you work in education, healthcare or transportation. It takes time to get a thorough understanding of the company to gain the trust, confidence and respect of the majority.

Which talent would you most like to have?

Actually there are two: I would like to be athletic and have musical abilities. It’s pretty bad when your little kids say, “Momma don’t sing.”

Linn Round, bottom row right, with other past NFPW presidents from left Donna Penticuff and Gwen White sitting and standing, Meg Hunt, Cynthia Price and Marsha Shuler.

Linn Rounds, sitting on the right, with other past NFPW presidents from left Donna Penticuff and Gwen White. Standing from left: Meg Hunt, Cynthia Price and Marsha Shuler.

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

Just about anywhere in Hawaii.

What book are you reading?

Mysteries are my favorites and I read a lot. I just finished : It’s the Girl in the Spider’s Web and now it’s Accused: a Rosato & Dinunzio Novel by Lisa Scottoline. Michael Connolly, John Stanford, Linda Fairstein , Margaret Coel, Tony Hillerman and now Anne Hillerman are some of my favorite authors. I occasionally read best sellers just to see what is popular.

What would people be surprised to learn about you?

I worked two seasons for the Milwaukee Braves in a pilot program and was asked to join them when they moved to Atlanta. I declined. I have also edited a book of cowboy poetry that Keith wrote and co-edited an anthology of Wyoming writers called Deep West. Also every two years I work full-time in the courthouse as an election judge. The job starts 40 days before the primary and continues through election day.

Why is your affiliate and NFPW important to you?

My affiliate, which is now defunct, and NFPW have been important in my professional life. It went beyond that. They are my friends. NFPW was an opportunity to learn, network and travel. The people I have met, the places I was able to visit and the friendships which continue are so important.

Way to follow you on a website, twitter, Facebook, etc.

Facebook is all.

Explore posts in the same categories: NFPW Wyoming

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Meet a Member: Linn Rounds”


  1. That Mustang would be awesome in Hawaii. On a recent trip to Hawaii I was upgraded to a Mustang — not a convertible, though. BTW, we have several favorite authors in common. Enjoyed learning more about you. Thanks for all you have done for NFPW!


Leave a Reply

