Meet a Member: Donna Penticuff

NFPW has a number of great leaders from all over the United States. One of our former national president is Donna Penticuff from Indiana. She has dedicated many years supporting NFPW and her affiliate. In 2015 her affiliate honored her efforts by naming her their Communicator of Achievement. She is deserving of this recognition for all her outstanding communicators efforts. Meet my friend, Donna Penticuff.

Name: Donna Penticuff

City and State: Marion, IN

DonnaP

Donna Penticuff, left, with her first born granddaughter, Lynley Grace Douglas, and her mother Hazel Sorrell. This photo is one of Donna’s favorite and was taken prior to her mother’s passing in December 2014.

Affiliate and any leadership positions:

 

Member of Woman’s Press Club of Indiana and most recent COA for Indiana. Past National President (2003-2005), and served on the national board for several years, including two terms as treasurer and one-year terms as third, second and first vice president, plus served additional year as past National President and was NFPW Education Fund Director. Have also attended all national conventions since 1984 (32 so far). Also served Woman’s Press Club of Indiana in various leadership roles, including President.

Years a member of NFPW: Joined in 1980 under the sponsorship of my great friend Nancye Hawes.

Tell us a little about you.

I’ve been in newspapers and communications for more 36 years professionally plus four more in college. I’ve been in the trenches doing all kinds of reporting, though I always favored medical/health and technical reporting; have been a copy editor, designer and manager in newsrooms, and had a 16-year career in public relations, development and nonprofit management. In addition, I have taught communications and journalism at a community college and at Ball State University. Five years ago, I became a licensed real estate agent as part of my road to semi-retirement. I now do communications consulting and have a great time helping people make major life decisions in selling and buying real estate.

I’ve also been a longtime community volunteer in several organizations and have loved being a part of WPCI and NFPW.

I’ve been privileged to receive state and national awards for my work but my biggest achievement is having the good fortunate to have three fabulous children (plus their spouses), three (with one on the way) grandchildren and my better half — longtime journalist and editor David Penticuff. Family has always been my top priority and thankfully that family has always understood and supported my love for my career and NFPW.

pastpresidents

Donna Penticuff, second from left, meets with other former NFPW presidents during the NFPW conference last September in Alaska. Former presidents from left, Lori Potter, Penticuff, Cynthia Price, Teri Ehresman, Meg Hunt, Marsha Shuler and Gwen White. (Photo by Marsha Hoffman)

Any career advice you would give?

 

Join NFPW as soon as you can and attend national conferences — and follow your passion!

Which talent would you most like to have?

Other than to grow money on trees? I’d like to have a longer attention span so I could write historical romance novels.

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

Hard to answer as NFPW conferences are always providing me with new ideas about where I’d like to live. Overall, I need to be close to water and I love historical areas.

What book are you reading?

The Brain Fog Fix by Dr. Mike Dow, though I rarely read non-fiction. For pure enjoyment I am a thriller, romance, sci-fi fan.

What would people be surprised to learn about you?

Most people think I am an extrovert, but in truth I would rather be in the back row being quiet and taking everything in or just readng a good book. I love to explore why things work or don’t work.

Why is your affiliate and NFPW important to you?

I would not be the person I am today without WPCI and NFPW. Both have allowed me to learn (my No. 1 passion), to grow professionally, to develop leadership skills and to develop the best professional and personal relationships anyone could hope to have.

Way to follow you on a website, twitter, Facebook, etc.:

I am on Facebook and keep telling myself I will actually post to my Twitter account. I currently am a communications consultant and also a real estate agent with Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices.

Explore posts in the same categories: Indiana, Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

