Meet a Member: Gwen Larson

One of the hard working leaders of our organization is Gwen Larson of Kansas. Gwen was co-chair of the 2016 NFPW conference in Kansas and was elected vice president of NFPW at last month’s national conference in Alabama. She is a dependable and dedicated member. Meet my unique and unbelievable friend, Gwen Larson.

Name: Gwen Larson

City and State: Americus, Kansas

A reporter from KSNT in Topeka, Kansas, interviews Gwen Larson about Emporia State University's new look for its mascot, Corky.

A reporter from KSNT in Topeka, Kansas, interviews Gwen Larson about Emporia State University’s new look for its mascot, Corky.

Affiliate and any leadership positions:

I’m currently serving as first vice president for membership and contest director for Kansas Professional Communicators. I also serve as vice president of NFPW.

Years a member of NFPW: 13

Tell us a little about you.

I’m a native Kansan who flew away to start my career inside the Beltway of Washington, D.C. That didn’t last long (three years) before my husband, Greg, and I moved back home. We survived raising three sons, all of whom are in college now, although two return weekly to my laundry room.

For 17 years, I worked at The Emporia Gazette, which is still owned by William Allen White’s family. I progressed from reporter to features editor to news editor and finally executive editor before moving seven years ago to Emporia State University as the assistant director of marketing and media relations. I enjoy being on this side of the desk, but I still hate being interviewed… it’s much easier to ask the questions!

Any career advice you would give?

I have two stories I’ve used to show young journalists how important it is to develop and maintain their personal integrity. In today’s current media climate where we often are considered vultures without any ethics except selling newspapers and magazines or getting great TV ratings, this message is even more important.

Unfortunately, since moving into media relations, I’ve been on the receiving end of unethical reporters. It always shocks me and makes me wonder who’s teaching the next generation.

The staff of The Emporia Gazette gathers in the press room on Aug. 31, 2009. Tom Brokaw, center with Gwen Larson on his right, captured this final day the presses ran as part of his USA Network profile show "American Character Along Highway 50." This press run ended 114 years of in-house printing of The Gazette.

The staff of The Emporia Gazette gathers in the press room on Aug. 31, 2009. Tom Brokaw, center with Gwen Larson on his right, captured this final day the presses ran as part of his USA Network profile show “American Character Along Highway 50.” This press run ended 114 years of in-house printing of The Gazette.

Which talent would you most like to have?

I’ve never minded being short (5 feet if I stand up straight), but there are times I’d like to be able to stretch like Reed Richards of the Fantastic 4 so I can reach whatever I want!

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

A cruise ship… I could give up cooking and cleaning, and I wouldn’t have to stay in one place. I could visit all the places I’ve always wanted to see.

What book are you reading?

I just finished “Hello Again,” a suspense novel by Brenda Novak. As a former cops and courts reporter, I’m fascinated by Novak’s depictions of psychopaths in a high-security prison in Alaska.

What would people be surprised to learn about you?

When I went to college, I wanted to be an attorney. But after earning my bachelor’s degree in journalism, I was tired of being in the classroom and wanted to get my life started. Covering trials later fulfilled my inner “court junkie.”

Why is your affiliate and NFPW important to you?

I fell into NFPW by entering the Kansas affiliate’s communications contest and placing at the national level, which led me to my first conference in Lexington, Kentucky. After that, it was the people I met and the friendships I developed both in Kansas and at the national level. These people helped me when I needed coverage for Emporia stories happening across the country. They also helped me when I transitioned away from daily journalism.

After I joined the NFPW board in an appointed position back in 2011, I began to learn so much more about this organization as well as the women who formed NFPW and whose shoulders we stand on. It’s vitally important that we share what we’ve learned with the next generation of reporters, editors, writers, social media managers, public relations professionals and others who are taking up the communications mantle.

Way to follow you on a website, twitter, Facebook, etc.

I’m most active on Facebook; look for Gwen Tompkins Larson. I am on Twitter @GwenLarson1964, but don’t post much.