Meet a Member: Monica Springer

Monica Springer joined Kansas Professional Communicators and NFPW after moving from the newsroom to the marketing department of Servi-Tech in her hometown of Dodge City. She immediately involved herself in the organization through leadership roles, including planning the 2016 NFPW conference in Wichita, and now serves as president of the affiliate. She is an outstanding NFPW member and one of reasons the conference was such a success. I hope you enjoy getting to know her better. 

Monica Springer

Monica Springer

Name: Monica Springer

City and State: Dodge City, Kansas

Affiliate and any leadership positions: Kansas Professional Communicators. I’ve been president since April.

Years a member of NFPW: Three I think.

Tell us a little about you.

I work at Servi-Tech in Dodge City. Servi-Tech is an agricultural consulting and laboratory testing company. I’ve worked in the communications department for five years.

I have three of the cutest nieces you’ll ever meet, including almost 3-year-old twins and an almost 1-year old. Being an aunt is the coolest job I’ve ever had. I didn’t know it was possible to love someone that much until they were born.

In my spare time when I’m not killing it as an aunt, I enjoy gardening, canning, and fixing my house that was built in 1900. I also have three Pugs: Penny, Raven and Pickles.

Any career advice you would give?

Be willing to change and be open to new ideas. Don’t be one of those people who always say, “But that’s the way we’ve always done it!” Those people are annoying.

Monica Springer with her darling niece Kaylee.

Monica Springer with her darling niece Kaylee, one of the 3-year-old twins.

Which talent would you most like to have?

I want the ability to stop time. That way, if I’m in the middle of a meeting and I want to take a nap, I could just press a button, go home and take a nap.

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

I have a soft spot for Oklahoma City. I also like the beach. If I could move OKC to a beach where hurricanes don’t happen, and if my family were willing to move with me, and if I won the lottery and I didn’t have to work, that’d be where I want to live.

What book are you reading?

My latest book club book is Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I’m about halfway through. The last book we read was The Girl on the Train. If you’re wondering, the book was way better than the movie. Don’t even waste your money on the movie.

What would people be surprised to learn about you?

I have different colored eyes. My left eye is blue and my right eye is green.

Why is your affiliate and NFPW important to you?

If I have a question about something, someone is always willing to help. When I’ve asked for help, no one has ever told me no. Plus, it’s good to have friends in different parts of the state!

Way to follow you on a website, Twitter, Facebook, etc.

My blog: kansasmusings.blogspot.com/

Facebook: facebook.com/monica.springer.73

Twitter: twitter.com/monicaspringer

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Kansas, Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

